Judge Allows Parking Meter Lawsuit To Proceed

Friday, a judge in Cook County Circuit Court allowed the IVI-IPO parking meter lawsuit to proceed.

According to Forbes Magazine, Judge Richard Billik says the lawsuit contains enough merit to proceed, although he struck the Illinois Secretary of State from the list of three defendants.

On August 19th, the Independent Voters of Illinois – Independent Precinct Organization (IVI-IPO) filed a lawsuit contesting the validity of the parking meter lease deal alleging the deal violates the Illinois state constitution on several points.

5 Responses to Judge Allows Parking Meter Lawsuit To Proceed

  1. Tom says:

    Bernie Stone just crapped his Depends.

  2. Greg says:

    Tom -

    If he did – “It’s none of your business!”

  3. The Parking Ticket Geek says:

    Between Tom & Greg’s comments, I nearly screwed up my keyboard again, snorting my sip of Coke out my nose when I read your two comments back to back. Luckily, computer monitors clean up pretty easily with a damp cloth.

  4. Facts says:

    Some more information on this…
    The ruling was limited to the State defendants. There’s a special rule for the State. In order to sue them, you have to first file a special petition with the court. If a plaintiff can articulate (not prove) a cause of action, the suit can go forward. On Friday the judge allowed the suit to go forward against Jessie White and Dan Hynes. The City wasn’t named in the ruling.

  5. DoR Employee says:

    I would like to know why the Illinois Sec State was named?

    Like anyone that isn’t on the 5th floor of City Hall has any control over what is done in this city..

    The Mayor and the Aldermen needed to have been Named…along with Mr Daley of Morgan Stanley and the Managers of CPM and the Director and 1st Asst. Director of Revenue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>